Conditional Scholarships for Teachers

Alternative Routes Conditional Scholarship Program

The Alternative Route Conditional Scholarship program helps school districts recruit teachers in subjects or locations of high need. In return for scholarships, recipients agree to teach in specified shortage areas at K-12 public schools in Washington. The Washington Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB) determines the shortage areas and selects the recipients. The Washington Student Achievement Council manages the program.

For additional Alternative Routes details, please visit the PESB website.

Pipeline for Paraeducators Conditional Scholarship Program

The Pipeline for Paraeducators Conditional Scholarship program (Parapipeline) is designed for paraeducators who have at least three years of classroom experience and have not yet earned a college degree. The program provides funding of up to $4,000 per year toward earning an Associate of Arts degree, which is an entry requirement for enrollment in an Alternative Route 1 teacher preparation program. Recipients are expected to continue on to earn their certification and fulfill a teaching service obligation in exchange for receiving the scholarship. The 2018-19 Parapipeline application deadlines are September 1, 2018, December 11, 2018, March 5, 2019, and May 7, 2019.

For additional Parapipeline details, please visit the PESB website.

Educator Retooling Conditional Scholarship

The Educator Retooling Conditional Scholarship program provides conditional loan scholarships to Washington State certified teachers who seek to add an endorsement in a subject or geographic shortage area. The Legislature recently amended the law governing the program to expand coverage to more shortage areas. The 2018-19 Retooling application deadlines are September 21, 2018, January 11, 2019, and April 26, 2019.

For additional Retooling details, including eligibility criteria and application instructions, please visit the PESB website.

For more information about the Alternative Routes, Pipeline for Paraeducators, and Educator Retooling programs, contact:

Alexandra Manuel
Director, Educator Pathways
Professional Educator Standards Board